Happy Holidays!

Merry Christmas everyone! Can’t believe it’s Christmas already! This year has really flown by. I’ll be spending Christmas and New Year in Japan this year, as I can’t really afford to go back home for winter break. Instead I have plans to travel to Osaka and Nara next week which should be good fun! My girlfriend is coming over again to visit next week, so I’m super super excited!

Christmas in Japan is a lot different to Christmas back home. I’ve been struggling to feel the Christmas spirit here, as it’s not a holiday which people go crazy over like back in England. There are Christmas lights out in the streets, and the occasional Christmas tunes in stores (instrumentals that is), but that’s pretty much it. It’s kind of made me miss home a bit. The looking around for last minute presents in packed shopping centres, wrapping up gifts and sending cards, Christmas classics playing everywhere. Even though I get really stressed with the mayhem of what we call Christmas, I do miss it!

So this month has honestly just felt like any other month. With me living in the countryside here in Japan, there really isn’t much of a Christmas atmosphere here. I can imagine Tokyo to be the complete opposite though! At school, I’ve been playing Christmas tunes in my English room to try and get myself into the holiday mood. It wasn’t until my last day of school that I started to feel some form of the Christmas spirit, as I received a few Christmas gifts from my teachers, and I gave out dorayaki to all of my teachers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Gifts from my teachers

Most of my friends have returned back to their own countries for Christmas, so I’ve mainly just been chilling on my own in my apartment. It does feel a little odd knowing that my friends aren’t in the area, but I’ve been enjoying my alone time! It’s the first ever Christmas I’ve spent on my own and away from home.  Here in Japan, they love to eat fried chicken (particularly KFC) and Christmas cake. So today I decided to celebrate Japanese style.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Fried chicken and beer
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Christmas cake

I bought a huge pack of fried chicken from the supermarket yesterday, and treat myself to some Christmas cake too. A big change to my usual turkey Christmas dinner every year, but hey, fried chicken and cake? What’s there not to love about that?

I also visited Ashikaga flower park again the other week to see the Christmas lights. It was so beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

15556443_10209253336785531_761967113_o

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was definitely worth the visit, the lights were breathtakingly beautiful. There was a part of me which wished that my girlfriend was there to see it with me as well, as the lights were really romantic and I could see couples everywhere!

Anyways, I hope you all have an amazing Christmas and New Year! Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

