One thing I have learned…

It’s my third month of being in Japan now. Where has the time gone? I’m already a quarter way through my journey in Japan! Sometimes I have to pinch myself as I still find it hard to believe that I’m working in a country I have always dreamed of visiting since I was a child. My life in Japan so far has felt like a huge bubble. A bubble which feels almost as though my life has been put on hold, and I’ve been transported to a faraway land to complete a tiny mission. With me being so far away, living in a tiny town in a rural part of Japan makes my life seem quite disconnected with life at home. With all the new things I am experiencing in my everyday life in Japan, it’s difficult to share these experiences with people at home. (Unless I attach a camera to my head 24/7!) One of the things I want to talk about today is a dream I had a few weeks ago.

I remember being on top of a beautiful grassy hill whilst the sun was setting. On top of this hill I could see what appeared to be a huge wooden bird. As I got closer to this bird, I could see that there were springs hiding underneath the wood. I realised that this was not a sculpture, but it was in fact something of a mechanical structure. I decided to climb on top of this bird, and suddenly the wooden bird started to move its wings and it ascended into the sky. Instead of feeling afraid, I felt exhilarated. I was firmly grasping onto this bird with both hands as it soared into the blood orange sky. From that height I was able to see incredible views of buildings, statues and vast farm fields stretching as far as the eye could see. I could not register the true beauty of what I was seeing!

In my mind I  thought to myself, I need to capture this moment or it will be gone forever. I need to share this view with the entire world. How often is it that people have a chance to be so high, and see things from this incredible height? However, the problematic situation I found myself in was that if I was to reach into my pocket to take a photo of what I was seeing, there would be a high risk of me losing my grip and falling from this mechanical bird. In this predicament, I finally told myself to keep holding tightly onto this bird, and to enjoy the moment on my own. It was a somewhat liberating feeling. I was able to fully enjoy what I was seeing knowing that although I could not share what I was seeing with people once this journey came to an end, it would forever be instilled in my memory.

This dream has taught me that my journey in Japan is something I have to experience and enjoy on my own. It is impossible for me to capture every single moment I see/feel and share it with people back home. There are many things I would love to share with you all. Small things like riding my bicycle to school in the morning whilst saying good morning to my neighbours. Showing you the route I walk, the supermarket I visit. It’s just not possible. So learning to experience and enjoy these things on your own without the need to share every frame of it, makes you able to appreciate things to their fullest. The photos and stories I share with you all, I hope you can all enjoy them with your own imagination.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

